350 turbo box kickdown cable install?

Post any technical questions, FAQs or tutorials in this section
BIGSIX

350 turbo box kickdown cable install?

Post by BIGSIX » Wed 01 Sep 2010, 16:09

Hi All,

I am new to the V8 scene and buying a Courier with 350 V8 and 350 turbo box, when I went to test ride it the owner said the kickdown has not been hooked up and I need to find out how to do it PLEASE!!

Any information or pics will be appreciated!!

Thanks
Old Ford's don't Die, they just go Faster!
Hi, my name is Johan and I am a V-addict!

'97 Suzuki TL1000S - V2(SOLD)
'76 Ford Cortina XLE Bigsix 3.0 - V6
'90 Ford Sapphire 3.0 GLX - V6
'97 Mazda MX6 2.5i - V6
'96 Ford Courier D\C 350 16v - V8

drgfinger
Technical Guru

Re: 350 turbo box kickdown cable install?

Post by drgfinger » Wed 01 Sep 2010, 18:29

There are 2 devices that control kickdown and upshifts , vacuum and cable.
You need a vacuum hose from the intake to the vacuum modulator on the box , you need a cable from the mechanical kickdown on the box to the carb linkage
Depends on the carb you got how you hook it up.
A box without vacuum and k/down hooked up is useless...
google "th350 kickdown" , tons of info there
The nicest thing about smacking your head against the wall is........the feeling you get when you stop!!

05 Jag S-type R - supercharged v8
95 C4 lt1 corvette

RIP

shoedoos

Post by shoedoos » Thu 02 Sep 2010, 07:19