Page 1 of 1

Wanted: Voltage stabilizer for instrument cluster on Capri

Posted: Sun 09 Oct 2011, 00:59
by vimzo
Hi All

Vimzo here. I am looking for a Voltage stabilizer for a Ford Capri 1600GT 1970 model. I it is a 2-pin unit that fits on the rear of the cluster unit. Purpose: to stabilize the voltage on the temp, fuel, voltmeter, oil pressure and rev counter to give a constant more accurate reading.

I look froward to your favourable responses.

Regards,
Vimzo.
0836773404.

Re: Wanted: Voltage stabilizer for instrument cluster on Cap

Posted: Sun 09 Oct 2011, 18:35
by FairmontGT
I used a modern voltage regulator chip previously on some of my Fairmont gauges. It works a charm and is dirt cheap, just find out what the voltage should be regulated at and buy the correct chip (bought mine from a local hifi repair shop). Some of the capri sites should say what voltage you are looking for.

Re: Wanted: Voltage stabilizer for instrument cluster on Cap

Posted: Sun 09 Oct 2011, 18:40
by ZA Perana
FairmontGT wrote:I used a modern voltage regulator chip previously on some of my Fairmont gauges. It works a charm and is dirt cheap, just find out what the voltage should be regulated at and buy the correct chip (bought mine from a local hifi repair shop). Some of the capri sites should say what voltage you are looking for.
Very interesting, like the opening poster I have a similar problem, perhaps now I can finally have a few guages that work...

Re: Wanted: Voltage stabilizer for instrument cluster on Cap

Posted: Sun 09 Oct 2011, 18:50
by FairmontGT
I used instructions like these. http://www.centroidproducts.com/mustang.gif

I remember now, bought a 5V regulator (the 7805 chip) and replaced the old voltage regulator. I think chances are good the capris will also use 5V if both the mustangs and fairmonts did.

Re: Wanted: Voltage stabilizer for instrument cluster on Cap

Posted: Mon 07 Nov 2011, 16:47
by vimzo
Hi Guys,

Thanks for the response. It's always good to know that I have your support!

My fuel and temp gauges are not working. But if I earth them they go all the way to the end. What worries me is that they all on one side (left-hand-side)of the instrument cluster. My volt meter and oil pressure on the RHS of the cluster works perfrectly. Did you experience a similar problem and when you replaced the voltage stabilizer did it sort your problem out?

Please let me know.

Regards,
Vimal.
0836773404.